To Work Or Not To Work…

“For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” – Romans 6:23.

Whilst writing the “saved?” section of this blog yesterday I came across a beautiful truth about this verse. Having used and read this verse so many times before it struck me that I had never noticed fully what I noticed this morning. Reading through this verse I noticed that the “wages” of sin is death.  Now my preliminary thoughts were that this was solely referring to a payment, simply saying that the payment for sin is death; and as true as that is, there is much more to it. Continuing to read I noticed something else: that the “gift” of God is eternal life. Looking into this I found a trend in what was being said: in both instances there is a giver, a means of giving and a reward. In the first instance the giver is sin, the means of giving is through “wages” and the reward is death, but in the second instance the giver is God, the means of giving is through a “gift” and the reward is life.

Thinking about this I realised that to earn wages you have to work for it. You see those who work in sin, have to work for it. Proverbs 11:18 says “The wicked worketh a deceitful work…” and Romans 6:20 says “for when ye were the servants of sin, ye were free from righteousness”. These people had to work, they were servants to sin. However, in contrast, while sin offers work, God offers a gift. There is no work to do, no price to pay. It is a free gift which only has to be accepted. In the past I’ve had people say to me “I could never be a Christian, it’s too much work” but as we see here not being a Christian is more work! How many people out there are working for their sin? How many people are working for the payment of death when a free gift of life is being offered to them? Let me ask you today, what are you working for? Are you working in sin to earn death, or are you trusting in the gift of God to give you life? You have 2 choices: Work or receive. I know what I’ve chosen, how about you? – A.

Posted on August 2, 2012, in Andrew's Thoughts for the Day. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

