Working yourself out of a blessing

Luke 10:38-42 says “ 38Now it came to pass, as they went, that he entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received him into her house. 39And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word. 40But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to him, and said, Lord, dost thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me. 41And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things: 42But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.”

English: Jesus at the house of Mary and Martha

Jesus at the house of Mary and Martha. Mary listens while Martha works. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sitting in church yesterday I was presented with a personal challenge. As the preacher stood and spoke, this passage was mentioned and something just hit me! Whipping out my pen I started to note down what God was saying to me, and boy oh boy was he speaking to me!

As I got home that night I found the verses and started to ponder what God was pointing out to me. As I read over the verses above I suddenly realised that it describes my life. I’m the Martha of this story!

As Martha had invited Jesus into her home I have also invited Jesus into my heart when I got saved. Now this was all well and good until I realised that like Martha I had started to cumber myself with work and was ignoring my house guest!

Now I have a habit of making myself elaborate and ‘efficient’ bible reading plans, but what I realised is that I spent more time preparing than I actually did reading! I was weighing myself down with unnecessary work-loads.

Like Martha I started to complain. I was doing so much work and felt I was going no-where. Then yesterday Jesus spoke to me. Verses 41-42 are talking directly to me! Jesus was saying “you’re troubling yourself with so many things, but you only need one thing. You only need to sit at My feet and listen. You only need to worship.”

These days everyone is so busy, but do we ever take the time to just sit and listen to what Jesus has to say? Do we ever just take time out and worship Him? Let me ask you today, how big is your work-load? Is it weighing you down? Are you so busy that you’ve forgotten who’s in your heart? Only one thing is needful for us, are you pre-occupying your life with unnecessary work, or are you spending time with Jesus?

Today I pray that you’ll just take the time to sit at Jesus’ feet and listen to His word. Lay aside your work and just worship Him. Fulfil your need and see what it does for you. Be a Mary, not a Martha! – A.

Posted on August 6, 2012, in Andrew's Thoughts for the Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

